Published online by the VBRI Press in 2016

## Conference report of ICMTech – 2016, India

## Dear Reader,

Vinoba Bhave Research Institute (VBRI, <a href="https://www.vbriindia.org">www.vbriindia.org</a>) organized a four day International Conference on Materials Science & Technology (ICMTech-2016, <a href="https://www.vbripress.com/icmtech">www.vbripress.com/icmtech</a>) from 01 - 04 March, 2016 on the occasion of their silver jubilee establishment in Delhi, India. VBRI provides research and innovation leadership in rural technology and sustainable developments maintaining core and shared facilities, vocational training, rural entrepreneurship activities and fostering collegial exchanges of international expertise.

www.vbripress.com/aml, DOI: 10.5185/amlett.2016.6001



Welcome ceremony of ICMTech 2016, dignitaries on dais from left to right, Prof. Ashutosh Tiwari (Director, VBRI and chairman of ICMTech), Prof. Ashutosh Sharma (Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India) and Dr. Anand Singh Khati (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Earth and Sciences, Government of India).

VBRI is developing with knowledge of research and developments in science & technology as a means for industrial and public empowerments. It is a best place for turning ideas into commercialisation through state-of-the-art inventions. The institute is concerned about problems of India and other developing countries in different sectors like agriculture, child health, science & technology, rural development and poverty alleviation *etc*. The goal of this conference was to provide a global platform for high-tech materials and their manufacturing activities in India.



Group photo of Recipients of IAAM medal and IAAM scientist award during ICMTech 2016, Delhi, India.

In this conference plethora of ideas and innovations were served through 43 sessions and two parallel symposiums. These sessions included nanomaterials and nanotechnology, smart energy technologies, graphene materials, sustainable, optical, electrical, electronic and magnetic materials covering 32, 15, 13 and 12% of the subject areas, respectively. Only 41 % among total submission of 2713 abstracts from 39 countries were accepted by abstract review panel of ICMTech. Around 900 delegates from different countries were attended this conference.



Prof. Ashutosh Sharma receives the Acharya Vinoba International Award of year 2016 during ICMTech 2016, Delhi, India.

The conference included seven plenary talks, 68 invited lectures, 613 oral presentations and 437 poster presentations from 30 countries representations. With ICMTech, VBRI wanted to strengthen materials manufacturing activities via step towards 'Make in India campaign'. Make in India is an initiative of the Government of India to encourage multi-national, as well as domestic, companies to manufacture their products in India. The driving force to make this campaign successful is to motivate youth to actively participate in this national mission. Through innovation pitch, the possible commercial ideas were presented by the young researcher's. The organisers were received 418 abstracts for innovation pitch from which they accepted only 320 for presentations. By "Innovation Pitch" sessions, VBRI encouraged the young researcher to participate as entrepreneurial activities.

Four International Association of Advanced Materials (IAAM, <a href="www.iaamonline.org">www.iaamonline.org</a>) medals and three IAAM scientist awards were announced by the Prof. Ashutosh Tiwari, Secretary General of IAAM in the conference. Prof. Hisatoshi Kobayashi, President of IAAM was given IAAM medals to Prof. Hari Srikanth (University of South Florida, USA), Prof. Rajeev Ahuja (Uppsala University, Sweden), Prof. Ravinder Dahiya (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom) and Prof. Seong-Chan Jun (Yonsei University, South Korea); and IAAM scientist awards were given to Prof. Parameswar K. Iyer (Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India), Prof. Magdalena Szutkowska (The

Institute of Advanced Manufacturing Technology, Poland) and Prof. Masaru Tanaka (Kyushu University, Japan). During the conference, Prof. Ashutosh Sharma (Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India) received the Acharya Vinoba International (AVI) award of year 2016.

IAAM young scientist awards were given to Nuno Gama (University of Aveiro, Portugal), (Korea Institute of Science and Technology), Deepika Gupta (University of Allahabad), Nusrat Rashid (Indian Institute of Technology Delhi), Ashwani Kumar (Chandigarh University), Akshay Kumar (Delhi University), Shaivya Gupta (Amity University), Damyanti Badagha (SVNIT, India) and Aditya Sharma for their best oral, poster and innovation pitch presentations.

Through this conference we hope that youths mark the beginning of a new era in the field of research entrepreneurship and strengthen 'Make in India' campaign.

## With all best wishes,



**Ashutosh Tiwari, PhD, Doc** *Editor-in-Chief, Advanced Materials Letters IFM-Linköping University, Sweden*